Same question different person

zombieslayer

Newly Enlightened
Hello Folks, I am a truck driver with big hands 2-3xl to be exact. I am looking for and edc light that I can fit into my pants pocket comfortably. I would prefer LED and up to 500 lumen. I am a complete noob on this forum even though I have been a member for a good while. So, I would appreciate any and all advice and knowledge ya'll would care to share with me. Thanks in advance.

Grijon

Flashlight Enthusiast
Being in a truck I imagine that it would be more trouble than it's worth to mess with lithium-ion (just my opinion).

Why do you want 500 lumens? I ask because if you're primarily looking for a light for pre- and post-trip inspections without the help of the sun I think any of the 2xAA Fenix lights would serve you well; I don't have one, but the LD22 looks to me like it would be perfect for inspections and pocket-carry with its combination of power, pocket clip, momentary-on and size.

ParaShootist

Newly Enlightened
I've been using a Fenix LD22 (2xAA unit) for EDC. Got to love the convenience of AA - its seriously easy (alkalines are everywhere & you also have NiMH rechargeables like eneloop or lithium for long shelf life). The LD22 has been just the right tool for me - familiar clickie tailcap, an easy to use side switch to change between 4 light levels and max at 215L is plenty of light for what I'd need an EDC light for. The LD20/LD22 has a reputation for durability - mine has been no exception. It fits in my pants pocket - but I mostly carry it on a lanyard.

My only criticism of the LD22 (goes with every other AA light I've handled) is the slender body - doesn't handle like a Surefire 6P or 9P, but that's obviously quite minor.

EagleTac D25A2 Clicky XM-L2 (also a 2xAA unit) is reportedly a nice light and is listed at 453L max output.
If I weren't so pleased with this Fenix, I might have been tempted to try the EagleTac.
HTH

zombieslayer

Newly Enlightened