retro fit led bike light 6 ssc p4's. Beam shots added

brent878

Newly Enlightened
Ok i am about to start on my led light build. This will be my first attempt so hopefully everything will work out. Here is what I bought already:

10x seoul P4 Ubin LED's on stars
2x 1000mah buckpcuks
1x b-flex controller
4x 20mm optics, some wide and some spot
2x 50mm optics one wide and one spot. each holds 3 leds
2x old night sun halelogen lights. they are dual setups and hoping to gut and use as a housing.
2x 14.8 li-ion all-battery batteries
1x charger
12" of 2" solid round stock aluminium
12" of 1" round tube aluminium
1x kill switch off of my honda CR250 to use as a switch for the bflex
1x artic silver epoxy
2x frame bags to hold the battries

ok here's the plan but I need your guys expert opinions as this is my first build and right now i am just trying to get all my materials so i can start on it.

My first plan is to take my night sun housing and put the 50mm optics in their at 3 led's on each side to give me a total of 6 led with hopefully over 1000 lumens. I want to run the bflex controller at 1000mah and I can dim it also. The night sun housing is alum and the 2" round stock I bought will be made into a head sink that the leds will attach too and hopefully disperse heat to the outer housing.

plan b is to build a 4 led setup kinda like niterider's setup. With 1" round tube (since the 20mm optics i bought were round) and a 1000mah buckpuck. I still may do this in addition to the 6 led light if the 6 led light works as well as i hope it does.

couple of questions for you experts:

how big do you think i need to make the heat sink inside for the 3 led's? I am not sure how much room i have to work with but what would be a good rule? Or just make it as big as possible?