Do MC-E LED's Need a "Break/Burn In" Period?

Jerry B

Newly Enlightened
I have a Tiablo ACE light with a Cree MC-E LED that supposedly puts out 700 lumens. It is an extremely bright light.
Since I work in a store that also sells these lights , I thought,that after using the light for probably 6 hours of burn time, I'd just compare it to a brand new unit out of the box. To my surprise, my "used" light seemed considerably brighter than the brand new unit! This started to make me wonder if a LED actually improves a bit after a certain period of operation?:thinking:

csshih

Flashlight Enthusiast
strange.. to my knowledge, LEDs do not have a burn in period.

you are comparing the same lights, same batteries?

easilyled

Flashaholic
Sorry for asking but were you using them both on the same level?

Its possible, for example that the original one had been set to max, whereas the one out the box came on at a lower level.

Also, as csshih says, if you have differing battery configurations, that could make a difference.

For example 2 CR123s might give more output than 1 18650.

Jerry B

Newly Enlightened
Sorry for asking but were you using them both on the same level?

Its possible, for example that the original one had been set to max, whereas the one out the box came on at a lower level.

Also, as csshih says, if you have differing battery configurations, that could make a difference.

For example 2 CR123s might give more output than 1 18650.
The Tiablo ACE has one fixed output!

csshih

Flashlight Enthusiast
how much would you judge "considerably" to be?
Is it possible that you could take beamshots?

I'd think that the natural variation in dies would produce a slight change, but not enough to be noticeable..

hmm.. is tiablo using different Bins, also?

they state that they use M bin
(M 430-490 lumens @ 350mAh)