Hey CPF, I'm looking for an EDC

kolombo

Newly Enlightened
Hey everyone,

I'm new to CPF; I signed up because I need your help on deciding what new EDC light I should buy. I own two right now: a Fenix LD10 and LD20, but I don't feel that they're powerful enough. So, I was looking at the Fenix PD35 and Nitecore P12. I've chosen these mainly because of their outputs: I go walking at night and there are some wooded areas where I can use 800+ lumens, but I also work in the club (as a DJ), so I need something that can fit in my backpack and pocket and doesn't take up too much room. Budget isn't too much of a concern, but I'd like to keep it below $100. Which do you guys prefer between the PD35 and P12? Do you have any other, better suggestions?

I'm looking forward to hearing from some real flashlight enthusiasts!

alohasurftoad

Enlightened
Out of curiosity... Are you making the switch to 18650 Li-Ions as well? If you run CR123's in them on high the batteries won't last very long. You'll need to add in a couple of rechargeable 18650's and a decent charger.

I believe the p12 throws slightly farther

Jash

Flashlight Enthusiast
Thank you, and noted. Do you think the P12 is superior to the PD35?

I'm biased against Nitecore as every light I've bought of theirs has failed within 18 months. Every Fenix I own still works. They (Fenix) have a few minor issues that warrant some note. For example, most of their lights use a reverse thread on the tail switch retaining ring which has caused problems for people. If you're aware of it, it can be easily remedied by tightening as needed.