Malkoff MD2- M61 or M61W

T

tje803

Newly Enlightened
I am looking to buy a Malkoff MD2. The "turn-key" MD2 is a good deal and I like that the package comes totally assembled (I am somewhat new to Malkoff drop-ins and still have lots to learn).

In this thread, most users recommended going with the MD2 with the M61W:
http://www.candlepowerforums.com/vb/showthread.php?315292-Convince-me-to-buy-a-Malkoff-MD2-3

Since so many users on CPF recommend the M61W, my question is- Is it worth purchasing the MD2, Switch, Lens, and M61W all separately at a higher price or would you recommend me going with the standard M61 in the less expensive turn-key package with the standard M61 and all parts included at the lower package price?

Thanks!

lightcycle1

lightcycle1

Enlightened
Go for the turnkey hi-low M61.

No muss no fuss add a good protected 18650 and it:s one hell of a nice light. My bestest general purpose light ever. Get the Malkoff clip with it too. Has a lanyard attachment hole and allows you to cigar grip the MD2, as well as preventing rolling. Well worth the 12 bucks. These are amazing flashlights. The tint, beam, combo flood/throw of the M61 makes it an outstanding general use light. Nice usable low mode too about 10% of full output. Absolutley go for the hi-low model.

Simple, no frills all-out function and build quality.
Its a beautifully executed basic flashlight

If I was told I had to get rid of all my lights and could keep only 1, the MD2 would be the keeper.

Sent from my SCH-S720C using Tapatalk 2

Last edited:
V

Vortus

Flashlight Enthusiast
Get the turn key package, preferably with the hi/lo ring.

C

Cerealand

Flashlight Enthusiast
I am looking to buy a Malkoff MD2. The "turn-key" MD2 is a good deal and I like that the package comes totally assembled (I am somewhat new to Malkoff drop-ins and still have lots to learn).

In this thread, most users recommended going with the MD2 with the M61W: