Schmidt SON powering Maha C401S charger

wmaurer

Newly Enlightened
Firstly, apologies if this is the wrong forum, but I thought the bicycle forum would be best for questions regarding power from my Schmidt SON.

Secondly, please excuse my newbie question; I'm a software developer and reading all this electronic stuff hurts my head.

I will be taking an extended bicyle tour next year, and want to use the power from my Schmidt SON to charge AA/AAA NiMH batteries.

I'll be taking a smart charger such as the Maha C401S to plug into mains when available, and since the charger takes 12V DC input, I thought it might be possible to connect it to my Schmidt SON dynohub. From what I understand (which is very limited), I think I need:
Just wondering if anyone could advise on whether I'm on the right track please? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
Wayne

Last edited:

Steve K

Flashlight Enthusiast
I think you are close, but skip those voltage regulators. The best (most practical) solution is a 12v shunt regulator. Just put a 5 watt 12v zener at the output of the bridge rectifier. You might want to epoxy the zener to a heatsink, since it could be getting fairly warm.

There are other ways to rig up a shunt regulator. A better version is to use a power npn transistor with a low power zener. The zener's cathode and the transistors collector get tied to the output of the rectifier, the zener's anode is connected to the transistor's base, and the transistor's emitter is connected to ground (the negative side of the bridge rectifier). The transistor should be capable of handling 6 watts or so, which means you probably want a TO-220 package, and the tab should be attached to a heatsink. The zener should be 11.3v, or whatever is close.

Steve K.

alexlockhart

Newly Enlightened
This is very interesting, as I've been thinking and planning to use power from a hub dynamo to do battery charging, although I want to charge a custom-built Li-Ion pack.