Where can I source Nichia CS 5mm LED?

Nic

Newly Enlightened
Hi,

I've been meaning to upgrade the LEDs in my Photon and other lights (CMG Infinity Ultra, etc.) with the new Nichia CS 5mm LEDs. I am new to modding, but I assume that these can be directly retrofitted to replace existing LEDs. Is this correct?

Also, does anyone know where I can source a couple dozen of these, as I cannot find them for sale anywhere? I've checked eBay, but can only find JELED 50,000mcd LEDs there, and I don't know if these will be as bright as the Nichias. What grade do I require for the brightest, whitest output?

Any help from candlepower members will be much appreciated. Many thanks.

Nic

jsr

Flashlight Enthusiast

jtr1962

Flashaholic
Nic said:
I've checked eBay, but can only find JELED 50,000mcd LEDs there, and I don't know if these will be as bright as the Nichias.
See this thread for some tests I've done. In terms of both lumens and intensity the Jeled are brighter than the U-bin Nichias. Average intensity is 41,000 mcd at 20 mA versus 24,000 mcd for the Nichias, mostly by virtue of the Jeled LEDs having a somewhat tighter beam. In terms of lumens, the difference is less (4.83 for the Nichias versus 5.59 for the Jeleds), and if you could find a V-bin Nichia it should match or even better the Jeleds. The Nichias do much better at higher currents, though. At 80 mA their lumen output actually exceeds that of the Jeleds, and as you may already know the Nichias generally hold up better in terms of lumen maintenance when overdriven.

Nic

Newly Enlightened
Thanks a lot guys...some very useful info you supplied. I think I'll give the JELEDs a go, seeing as they are easy and cheap to get hold off. :sold:

Thanks again.

Nic

jsr

Flashlight Enthusiast