first lux swap mod, Dorcy cr123

nakahoshi

Flashlight Enthusiast
I had a dorcy, and i sold it. But i started thinking that the led is so easy to get to, so easy to take off, it has to be easy to mod it. I picked up a brand new one and I decided to give it a shot. I really wanted to experiment with some lux color leds because using beam filters block so much light. This is my first attempt and boy am i proud! :grin2:
Its a lux one from photophanatic, and its very blue. I am going to put a lux 3 red orange in my next dorcy. It should be able to work being as the dorcy has a voltage booster in it. This is alot of fun, and it seams like ill be spending EVEN more money now on lights!
BlueDorcy2.jpg

BlueDorcy.jpg

BlueDorcy3.jpg

Enjoy!
Does anyone know if the dorcy will run a Lux 3 orange led with an vf of H

nerdtoy

Newly Enlightened
Totally cool, I did the same thing today with the Dental Blue 450-470nm Luxeon as discussed in another thread earlier. I replaced the diode in the light with the blue (dental module) and it is remarkable in throw and spread, very very bright.

DSC08292.JPG

DSC08293.JPG

DSC08294.JPG

nakahoshi

Flashlight Enthusiast
Good job! That was the first thing i noticed, it was the throw! using a beam filter to get blue output KILLS throw. This just floods everything and i love it!

CM

Flashlight Enthusiast
bobby, be careful about red-orange mods with 123 cells and boost circuits. The Vf is going to be lower than the cell voltage and since it's a boost circuit, you'll go into direct drive depending on how high the Vf of the red-orange lux is. Nominal is around 2.5V. Add possibly a diode drop and it may or may not work. Also, the emitter must be electrically isolated from the circuit. If you can get a high Vf lux, you'll decrease the likelihood of overdriving. Typical current for 3V to the lux is 1.4A!

nakahoshi

Flashlight Enthusiast
CM said:
also, the emitter must be electrically isolated from the circuit

Cm,