LED Museum pages removed!

Saaby

Flashaholic
Craig, care to share with us the meaning of this:

DUE TO POSSIBLE PATENT INFRINGEMENT ISSUES, THIS PRODUCT HAS BEEN REMOVED FROM WWW.LEDMUSEUM.ORG AT THE REQUEST OF L.R.I. STAFF AND LEGAL COUNSEL

Saaby

Flashaholic
I thought those were the little things with the Surface Mount LEDs, there was a blinker and a spinner...am I wrong?

EDIT: I stand corrected. I confused the Phyco Brights with the Phyco Blinker/Spinner. Still the question remains, what did the mean layers say to you?

The_LED_Museum

*Retired*
I'm not at liberty to say what the mean 'ol lawyers said. But what I did should keep me off the homeless shelter waiting list and on top of the viaduct, rather than under it.

Jonathan

Enlightened
Did you agree to a settlement with the lawyers where you agreed not to disclose terms? Or did they simply _say_ that you couldn't tell others? I am not a lawyer, and don't even play one on TV, but it seems to me that their request _to you_ that you remove the pages is not confidential unless you _both_ agree that it be so.

Additionally, describing a patented device is explicitly _not_ a breach of patent, because the essence of patenting is that you publish the design. So I don't see how the description of a device which does infringe a patent could be an infringement of the patent. (The Psycho-Bright lights might infringe a patent, a description of the Psycho-Bright lights doesn't infringe the patent, IMHO.)

In any case, while I support patent protection, I don't support heavy handed lawyers squeezing out 'fair use' (not correctly applied here, but the same general idea) in the name of intellectual property. This little bit of lawyering will weigh heavily against my buying a Photon product.

-Jon

D

**DONOTDELETE**

Photon sucks. Buy Inova Microlights instead, they are better in every way; ease of battery change, design of switch, assembly of case.