Need help with solitaire LED upgrade/mod...

cutlerylover

Banned
Hey guys...I ahve been trying to mod my solitaire to a LED..I bought a variety pack of LED's from radioshack, and I got the 23 battery, but I have been havign some trouble...1st I couldn't find anything that could take up the extra space and conduct the battery current...I tried a small bolt and a spring from a pen but nothing worked...Either it was too big or too small or just didn't work...Finally I got somethign to work but the LED was SOOOOOOOO dim, I was very dissapointed...I was wondering if anyone out there can help me out...I wanted to know if I could send the solitaire along with the battery (23) and someone can add a good 3mm LED and out it together for me? I can pay for shipping back...I am just frustrated with this easy project and my 1st mod...It makes me feel stupid having these problems, lol, I just want it done already...Can anyone help me out?

:stupid: :anyone:

aljsk8

Enlightened
hi - i was a newbie at this untill yesterday - but ive done the mod now and it works great

heres what i did - got 50 nichia 3mm leds for $6 off ebay
also got 5 others that claim to be 17000mcd thes cost $5 for 5 leds!

cut the legs so the overall length was the same as the bulb
used a dremel to grind the tabs off the legs of the led
also ground the lip at the bottom of the led - so the reflector goes all the way down
push the led in

first i tried the 3 little cells from a a23 and some brass rod that i cut down to size

i wasnt too impressed - both the normal leds and the bright ones wernt great

so i tried a whole a23 battery - 12v!

well that worked a treat - a bit blue but nice and bright
this only worked with the nichia 3mm leds the "really bright" ebay ones
blew up under 12v

next getting a nice beam from the reflector

3 options

1. normal led - ok but all ringy and a bit useless
2. sanded led - all flood - very useful but no throw