"Throw"

Curious_character

Flashlight Enthusiast
This was written in reponse to a posting in the Cheers-and-Jeers section, but I thought it's more appropriate here. I hope it'll be helpful to some readers. I'd very much appreciate any corrections for any technical errors I've made -- as I say, I'm not really an expert at this.

--------

As far as I can tell (I'm not a light or optics expert), "throw" isn't a technical term like illuminance and luminous flux, but something used pretty casually in places like CPF. Here, it's used in at least a couple of ways. One is the brightness (illuminance) of the brightest part of the beam. Until I happened here, I just referred to that as being how "bright" a light was. "Brightness", though, doesn't seem to be a defined technical term either, so some people use it to mean the total amount of light produced by a flashlight. To those folks, a flashlight that lights a big area with a dim light can be "brighter" than a light sabre that'll make a hawk's eye glow back at a mile, if it puts out more total light. So we have "throw" as something that the light sabre has more of than the floodlight.

Total light output is measured in lumens, and there's only a single number for a given light at a given setting. This can be spread out in a flood or focused into a very sharp beam with a reflector or lens without changing the total amount of light or lumen value. The brightness or illuminance you can bring to bear on an object at some distance and in some direction is measured in lux. This is commonly normalized to a distance of one meter. Usually, a single value is given for a light, and this is the brightness or illuminance at the brightest part of the beam. That is, it's the light's maximum lux at one meter. So if we take two lights with the same total output (lumen value) and sharply focus one, it'll have a higher maximum lux value at a given distance.