SSC P4 in a KL1 head. What would happen?

KDOG3

Flashlight Enthusiast
Since the KL1 has both buck/boost, I'm wondering if the SSC could survive in the KL1. I don't see why not, but I'm no expert which is why I'm asking. I also need to figure out what the output numbers would be. On 1 cell I think the KL1 runs at 350mah, and on 2 cells I think it runs at 500 or 550, not sure. Anyone know? With a Mcr20 reflector, that would make a killer little light! Waddya think?

BigBoy

Enlightened
If I do another mod - this will be it. The KL4-R caught my eye when it first was developed. With a Seoul and a sense resistor mod to the driver to bump the output up to say 700 mah, on a 3.7 volt rechargable LION - this could be just about the perfect light for me.

CM

Flashlight Enthusiast
It works. If you're using the older (ribbed) KL1, replace the optic with a reflector. The TIR works well with the SSC-P4

Boosting the bias is now unncecessary IMO, unlike with the Luxeons. The output of the Seouls are such a big improvement that you can have both runtime and higher output at the same time.

Last edited:

grnamin

Enlightened
I just dropped one in last night in my KL1-R. Noticeably brighter than the previous UX0H setup. Can't tell by how much, though. I had to shave a little bit off the narrow end of the reflector. The beam is good, but kinda soft. I'm waiting on the McR-20 Seoul I ordered from the Sandwich Shoppe to see how that changes the beam profile. I used 1xR123 and 2xR123s and the P4 worked fine with them.

freewheelin'

Enlightened
I havent even seen a SSC yet but my Milky modded KL1 head w/Cree P3 and McR17xr is awesome on my E1L and it seems to run forever. I mainly use with used 123's I don't trust in my multi cell lights. IMHO it puts out as much light as my C3 with stock bulb.

zx7dave

Enlightened
KDOG3 - The KL4 also comes in black in one of the weapon lights. They are much nicer than the KL1...but the black KL4 is hard to come by.

KDOG3

Flashlight Enthusiast