DB1000 and WA Solarc...

Sable

Enlightened
Heya,

I'm no electrical engineer, let's get that out of the way right off. But I learn fast, and generally understand what's being said to me.

That said, is there a compelling reason why I can't use, say, a DB1000 stepdown converter from the Shoppe and a stack of 3x18650s to drive a WA Solarc 10w ballast?

If I'm reading all this right...

An option for the Solarc ballast is 13v as an operating voltage. Another version will operate at 10.2v.

According to the spec sheet, current draw for the 13v unit is ~750mA. The 10.8v one draws roughly 1.0a.

I am uncertain of what voltage the DB1000 can put out - the Shoppe just says "Luxeon V see calculator," which is not hugely useful to me.

If the DB converters can drive voltages that a WA Solarc ballast wants...both the DB750 and DB1000 can drive the currents. it should be possible to regulate the thing, right?

[Alternately, would two stacks of parallel 3x18650s in series make a Shark a happier alternative?]

Or am I just totally off the deep end, here?

Nereus

Enlightened
HIDs usually go through turn-on and then warm-up procedures during the first seconds after clicking on and during these stages the power needed may be very high compared to the steady state operation. DB1000 just dumps 1 amp to the ballast without "understanding" if the input voltage (and wattage) sags down to 8, 10 or 13 volts due to the power needed. In the worst case the DB + ballast combo starts to oscillate between on and off.

I suggest that you connect your ballast to the batteries through a dmm and check the input amps during all the stages of the ballast operation (high voltage turn-on strike, warm-up and steady state). If the amps stay at some constant level all the time (e.g. around 1 amp) and the input voltage does not sag down or kick up then
thinking.gif
your idea should work nicely in my opinion (if DB can only handle input and output voltages).