Is there a "lingo" and "abbreviation" thread?

KingGlamis

Banned
Hey all, as a newbie here I am learning a lot and love this site. But sometimes it is frustrating to not know the "lingo" and some of the abbreviations. I searched around a bit and did not see a thread that explains lingo/abbreviations. Is there such a thread? If so, can you please provide a link? If not, maybe someone could start such a thread and everyone chime in with answers/explainations.

For example, I think that torch is a generic name for any flashlight. But I'm not sure if I'm correct??? Are there certain lights that are considered torches and others are not? That's just one example. I would love it if there was a thread that explained all of the CPF lingo.

Another example is that I had to ask what EDC was. It seems so simple now that I know, but I just didn't know. I feel like a retard having to constantly ask what things mean. :laughing:

Thanks for any help you can provide.

Doug

kromeke

Enlightened
The English refer to flashlights as torches. Presumably, other English speakers not from the US that have learned the Queen's English also refer to flashlights as torches.

Flashlight is an American word.

Norm

Retired Administrator
Coming from a country (Australia) were torch is the way to go, I hate to admit it but flashlight is probably the correct term, I think the reason is, in the early days battery capacities were so low the light ways flashed on to have a quick look to see you weren't walking over a cliff not not constantly on.
Just found a site to confirm this.
http://www.laserengravedkeychains.com/flashlight-origin.htm
At the risk of sounding dumb what does SPF mean in the sales forums, I guess it probably means Sold Prior ????.
Norm

Last edited:

KingGlamis

Banned