Surefire 8X/8AX/8AN to CREE LED?

hunduh

Newly Enlightened
Can a surefire x80 lamp from the surefire 8 series lights be "converted" to a CREE LED and still use the Surefire rechargable B90 batteries? What would the burn time be (the X80 lamp goes approx 50 mins)

I am a Police Officer and I have been carrying a Surefire 8X rechargable light for about ten years now.....I love the light, but it seems my little Fenix P2D puts out more light......I would like to keep using my 8X - I just want to make it a LOT brighter and whiter!!!

Does anyone know of a CREE bulb that will drop in the Surefire 8 series flashlights? Maybe someone who can mod the lamp to a good LED? The X80 lamp is a different size than the P60 lamp....

Thanks,

Hunduh

nein166

Flashlight Enthusiast
Oh I wish it had been that simple. If a P60 bulb will fit in a 8X then you can do it with a Cree Drop-in
But in my 8AX I made my own Seoul based LED module have a look here
The total cost ran about $60 not including a broken X80 I stole the spring from.

yellow

Flashlight Enthusiast
as nein's example shows, there is way enough space inside the head to put whatever in
(I have made it another way by using a large sink pressing in from the rear part of the head).
Problem is to somehow include on the 2 contact springs (instead of the more easy body-as-negative used at other lights).

So far there are no aftermarket drop-ins I am aware of.

Runtime might be about 3.5 hours
(three cells = (almost) no losses = current from batt = current to led = roughly 3.5 hours with a 4000 mAh Batt stick)

hunduh

Newly Enlightened