I need a new Headlamp!

jbieszke

Newly Enlightened
I have been looking for a new headlamp, I need your professional thoughts! about me. I am an electrician by trade, a camper, and a hiker, not a caver. I need bright diffused light for close work (electrician), consistant light (camp), and 60 yds of light for trails. I have 5 headlamps, and about 20 flashlights. headlamps are petzl myo xp, energizer 6 led, dorcy 1 watt led, petzl tekka, and princenton tek quad. I have been considering the brunton L3.. give me your opinions on what I should have next. who sells mods? I would mod myself, I have done many mods, but I just want to purchase..

Thank you

Enlightened
I would add the PT Apex or Apex Pro to the list. Your needs are somewhat contradictory. You want a bright floody light for closeup and a light with throw for trail use. With the Apex you could use the quad 5mm LEDs to provide the up close flood when you need it and the 3W Maxbright for throw down the trail when you're using that.

TigerhawkT3

Flashlight Enthusiast
So, you want to be able to flood a few feet in front of you, as well as throw 200 feet. What I'd suggest is to get a headlight for close/medium-range tasks, and a separate handheld for throw. That way, you have a backup in case of failure, you can lend one out without being left in the dark, you'll have two different simultaneous lighting options, and you'll have more flashlights.

I'm happy with my Seouled Argo HP. You might also like the PT Apex or BD Zenix IQ (both Seouled, if possible). I highly recommend you check out this page and this one, and choose one.

d1337

Enlightened
One thing to consider when looking at headlamps is the position of the battery pack. For hiking and camping it's no it doesn't make any difference to me. However, having the battery on the back of my head sucks when I have to lay on my back to work on something.

Lightguy27

Enlightened