Spooky stories?

pbs357

Enlightened
Ok, it's almost Halloween, and where are the scary stories of exploring haunted, abandoned and otherwise creepy places? Where are the stories, pics and high power lumen machines in the midst of darkness?

I remember reading Phazerburn's (PhaSerburn?) story of "the door" and what possibly lurked behind it. I read every post, every page, to the end! Are our lights so bright now that we are no longer "afraid of the dark?" ;)

Post em' if you got em!

scott.cr

Flashlight Enthusiast
I wouldn't say I normally believe in ghosts, but this experience may have changed my mind.

When I graduated high school (1992), my folks treated to a family trip to France. We went for two weeks and explored ALL the places I learned about in art history class that year… Louvre, Notre Dame, Bourges, and probably a dozen or so chateaus. Now this particular story takes place in a chateau in along the river Loire, in the country. Swans outside, swimming in fountains surrounded by cobblestone walkways. It's a warm June afternoon.

This particular chateau was really quite creepy. Lots of stories of incest, family members killing each other, use of layer upon layer of pancake makeup while bathing only annually, etc. Lots of closed, locked doors and long hallways too. I can't remember the name of this chateau, but it crosses over the river.

About this point in the trip I'm starting to figure out that if you didn't speak French, you were an ugly American. If you tried to speak it, you were insulting the French hahaha. We took the guided tour of the chateau, which of course was in French. So my 13 year old sister and I tiptoe away from the group to do a little exploring on our own. We don't make it far because we keep bumping into either our tour group or other tour groups in other parts of the chateau.