Please help, looking for a 2xCR123 light with longest runtime for emergency.

hp20252

Newly Enlightened
Hi guys, i am new to this awesome forum. I tried to do hours of research before i bug everyone but not with much luck.

I am looking to buy/build a flashlight at the cheapest cost that will meet the following.
1) Run on 2xCR123. All my other flashlights are CR123 and i love the long storage life.
2) Around 50-60 lumen with med throw/spill. Would love either 2mode (60low, and xx max), or constant 60lumen.
3) Long runtime, 10+?. Like P3D RB100 Black Premium 100, it is listed as 50lumen/13hrs.

P3D RB100 Black Premium 100 seems to be perfect (altho i hate all the modes), but wondering if there are cheaper ones out there that i can make or buy. I don't need something very well made because I want to store them in car trunks and earthquake kits, and I have a mod gladius and L1 Hunter for my daily use.

I am pretty good with DIY, so if anyone can point me to such a light to buy or build, you will be my new hero. :)

ACMarina

Flashlight Enthusiast
For all of that stuff, just check out a Cree or Seoul light from one of the kajillion online merchants.

You should be able to find a light with those kinds of figures.

Why do you need 60 lumens, though?? I think (and impliment in my car and home) that a 60 lumen light is the high-end of what I need in an emergency situation. I'd rather have 5-10 lumens that last for days on end. Multilevel lights give this flexability.

I'd also reconsider the "doesn't have to be well made" idea - let's say there IS an earthquake, and your box is buried under the box spring and matress that fell on it. Once you dig it out, you find that the shock of all of that stuff falling on the box broke something loose inside the light. Not good. Plus, if you have something that's crappy, that's what you're gonna get from it, and then if you add Murphy's law on top of that it's even worse..