Loft lighter

Blinkybill

Newly Enlightened
Hi I'm new to this forum and well impressed by the knowledge you guys have . I am in the process of choosing a flashlight for my work being a heating engineer I need to illuminate loft spaces and also look inside boilers and dark cupboards .I fancy a surefire . What would you recommend .Is the u2 overkill or A2 not suitable ?
Any info gratefully recieved.
Thanks.

LukeA

Flashlight Enthusiast
You should get something rechargeable if you'll be using it as often as it seems you will. Primaries will get very expensive to run.

jeffb

Flashlight Enthusiast
The Surefire U2 will give a nice flood beam with multiple levels and very good brightness for "loft" looking :)

You can purchase a Leef body from Lighthound that allows 18650 Li-on rechargeable......here

I really think that multiple levels and primary 123's will last for some time (they will also be a business expense or perhaps your employer will provide).

CPF thread regarding U2 runtime
here

and runtime plots by kj
here

U2 w/Leef body and tailcap
150810369-M.jpg

Occasionally, older used U2's show in BST that had a removable plastic sleeve and rechargeable can be used.

I have had both A2's and U2, and I believe (not worth much!) that the U2 would be better for your app, due to the multiple levels.

However, incandescent and LED combination is good.........but for illuminating lofts, the U2 seems to fit perhaps better. Hopefully, others will share their experience?

Hope this helps.

jeffb

saildude

Newly Enlightened
Streamlight 4AA Luxon mentioned would be good. It might be a bit too bright if you are working a foot or two from you. But a great light ( I have 3 located in different places and bags )

I like the Streamlight 2AA LED - review I did is below

https://www.candlepowerforums.com/threads/176741