Need advice - Lumapower M3 or other?

herrlich1

Newly Enlightened
Hello,

i'm new to LED Flashlights and need a bit help:

I'm searching for a light that covers nearly every situation (indoor use, use to light the way home at night,....) and i found the lumapower m3 in the internet.

- Is this light really as universal and usefull as advertised? (useful as nearly edc (1xAA) and as powerful light at night (2xAA with the turbohead)?)
- Are the parts coming apart when you carry it in the trouser pocket?
- Is this light really as heavy as i heard in this forum? Has someone a comparison to other lights like minimag or a fenix?
- Is there a better alternative for me which i don't know (up to 80US$ and with AA-batteries/rechargeables)?

thanks.
herrlich1

woodrow

Flashlight Enthusiast
herrlich1,
First welcome to CPF. As to the Lumapower M3 (a light which I did own) it is a good all around light. It will give you very long runtime on medium with a lithium aa or a decently bright light with a 14500 rechargable cell. The turbo head will give you good throw, and the small head will make the light fit decently in your front pocket. I carried mine with the 123a cell as an edc light for a while.

Their are brighter and smaller lights to be had, but the M3 does give you some options that the other lights out there do not. I believe it is a good light and worth the $$$. IMHO anyway.

Kilovolt

Flashlight Enthusiast
Hi Herrlich1, :welcome:

I bought a Lumapower M3 as soon as it came out last year. I must say that I am pretty happy with it thanks to its excellent construction and nice white floody beam. The choice of batteries is of course its main appeal. :)

In real life however you end up choosing the configuration you like better (in my case 1 x CR123 battery) and leaving the flashlight nearly always in the same form. It is quite easy to change the components but let's not forget that nicely lubed threads and o-rings are not very nice to be handled often. :rolleyes: