Beginner Here

lightup

Newly Enlightened
Hi guys. I've never been addicted to flashlights, but I am starting to see the value in them, especially for a survival preparedness. Do you think you could recommend a good, solid flashlight to start out with. Right now my EDC flashlight is a little Streamlight key-mate. It is ok, but I am looking to get something that is of higher quality and has multiple/brighter light modes. Could you guys give me a basic rundown on what the specs mean on flashlights and how to evaluate them and recommend any tried and true flashlight to EDC for now? I would really appreciate it and plan to stick around and learn. My budget for the flashlight is ~$200. Looking for something high quality that won't suck up batteries quick and that can get pretty bright if I need it to.

Other thoughts: If the flashlight can be so bright that it could be used for self-defense that would be good. Any flashlights that are EMP-proof? Gotta have a clip so that I can hook it at my side.

Norm

Retired Administrator
:welcome: No suggestions for you, your probably going to get a 100 different answers.
Norm

Carpe Diem

Flashlight Enthusiast
Welcome aboard, Lightup! :thumbsup:

You`ve covered a lot of ground with your initial questions, and there is no single best answer for any of them.

I suggest you spend some quality time surfing through the CPF and the CPF Marketplace...and absorb by osmosis the wide variety of flashlights that are availble to you on the CPF.

For what it`s worth, and if it`s variable brightness that you`re really after, I do suggest that you stare hard at the NovaTac lights, the HDS lights and the Surefire U2`s that surface on a regular basis on the B/S/T section of the CPF Marketplace. You`re also going to see a lot of other really nice flashlights that will float your boat.

In any event, welcome again, and enjoy the journey!

:)

andylondon

Newly Enlightened
:welcome: Lightup