SF G2 LED drop-in - best combo output/runtime?

grrickar

Newly Enlightened
I am relatively new to flashlight modding, and the options for the SF G2 seem to range from the Chinese Cree drop-ins on ebay to the higher priced (but likely better made) offerings by BOG and others. I picked up a G2 Nitrolon the other day with a gift cert at Bass Pro Shops.

I'm looking to get more runtime, and more output in the process. I'd like to stick with regular CR123s, and I'd like to have 3 hours of usable light. The stock P60 head only gives about an hour if I am not mistaken.

I'm leaning towards the BOG Q5 Cree drop in, but now I see all these multi-mode Cree drop ins. Ah...decisions, decisions. I'm not interested in strobes, but having 2 levels of brightness would be nice provided the lower mode would offer longer battery life (which presumably it would). I have some LED headlamps (actually I have a *lot* of them), and those with 5 modes sort of annoy me because I rarely use many of the modes, and I keep having to cycle through them to get to the one I want, which is really really bright, or low output (battery saver) mode.

Based on those desires, can you wise fellows suggest a drop in? I'd like it to fit without a gap, and without having to mod anything (isn't that the point of a drop in anyway?) I am also worried about heat in high output mode, so if there are concerns please educate me.

TIA!:D

zven

Enlightened
Well, the first drop-in that comes to mind for quality, efficiency and output vs. runtime is the Malkoff line. The M60 is the brightest, and I'd expect it to perform as well as, if not better than, other Q5 modules (such as the BOG). However, in a light with a Nitrolon (plastic) body, the M60 (and since they're also CREE Q5's, I can only assume the same for drop-ins from other sources) isn't recommended to be used for more than 15 minutes at a time, otherwise undissipated heat may damage the module.