I'm new to the flashlight world...

theflasher

Newly Enlightened
So, I have only one friend that has a 1 million candlepower flashlight/spotlight. His is the only one I have seen around where I live and I didn't even know they existed until I saw his... so I decided I want to buy one too.

The thing is, I got online just to see how the market is, and I have tons of choices for my spotlight. I joined this forum to get a little more knowledge before I make a purchase.

I was wondering if you guys could give me your opinions on the different types of spotlights: HID, LED, Halogen. You know, like which type is the brightest, which is cheapest, best throw, which has the most bang for the buck... That sort of thing. And if you don't mind, the top brands would be good to know too.

I am looking for a spotlight with a rechargeable battery, by the way. Any opinions and information would be greatly appreciated, Thanks!

Oh, also.. I am surprised at the level of interest in spotlights and big flashlights. To be honest, I didn't know it really existed until now. I am just curious, does anyone know how big the spotlight market is?

Cowley

Newly Enlightened
Welcome to CPF Flasher. I was in your position eight months or so ago. I knew enough about lights that I liked what I saw when it cost more than a good lunch. Read, read, read the different sections of the forums and you will see examples of different lights and their beamshots. There is also a wealth of info regarding pros and cons of lights. From your studies you will start to form opinions of what you want in a certain light that is at the level you will spend. There is too much information waiting for you in the CPF threads to list it here. Have fun, read, ask questions and keep us advised of where your headed. Oh btw, as most of us newbies are cautioned by seasoned flashaholics...get your wallet loaded!

Cowley

abarth_1200

Flashlight Enthusiast