Need a patrol torch - help?

superdon

Newly Enlightened
Hi all,

I am just about to begin a career in the UK police force (fool some of you may say!). I need to get myself a decent flashlight to use out and about.

I am new to the flashlight world, so be nice :) But, I do like my gadgets, so dont want to just get "any old flashlight".

I have done quite a bit of reading, and think the Fenix TK11 might be a good option for me? Any recommendations?

I guess I need it to be cheap enough to run on an almost daily basis, be small-ish and easy to carry around - ideally with a pouch or something that I can attach to my belt.

I have looked around and think I might be able to get the TK11, with a couple of batteries and a charger for around about $150 - so I guess thats about my budget.

Any other lights I should consider?

Thanks for the help!

Mdinana

Enlightened
I don't have the TK-11, but it should be OK for your needs. Of course, most of the Surefire line would be too. Depending where you are in the UK, gloves at work may be a consideration, so you might want to think about options in turning on/off- ie size of tailcap, clickie/twistie, etc. Adding a Malkoff to a 6P or G2 might be an option (metal vs. synthetic, something to consider when wet and cold).

I guess, however, that you won't have to worry about holding the light in a Harries or FBI grip (that's a gun joke):laughing:

picard

Flashlight Enthusiast
Fenix TK11 is ideal for your needs. Surefire is over price. You can get rechargeable batteries for TK11.

dougie

Enlightened
There are many questions you can ask on CPF but which torch/flashlight is probably not the best one as now you'll be inundated with suggestions!....LOL!