Batteries for a PT apex

Bdr1783

Newly Enlightened
I just bought a new apex just wondering what's the best batteries to run in this headlamp for caving?

Mark620

Enlightened
That depends on the version of the light - Apex, APEX Pro, APEX Extreme

Yucca Patrol

Enlightened
If I am able to freshly charge batteries the night before, I'll use my standard NiMH 2700 mAh Powerex or 2650 mAh Duracell AA's.

Otherwise, I use Eneloop or "Duraloop" batteries in my Apex.

Woods Walker

The Wood is cut, The Bacon is cooked, Now it’s tim
I have the older 60 lumen Apex. I use 2450 mAh Energizer NiMH batteries. They are made in Japan and seem to work well. I think Duracell makes some good 2600+ NiMH batteries but don't own any. Also used both Lithiums and Duraloops aka LSD 2000 NiMH cells. All work well. But I am no expert on batteries.

Edit.

Also have used standard batteries. Mostly Duracell and they worked well too.

Last edited:

Sarratt

Enlightened
It seems to be that Low Self Discharge (LSD) batteries like Eneloops work best.
Even though you think you would be better using a higher mAH then 2000, in practice the higher (above 2500) loose their advantage very very quickly.

Check out the battery section for a lot more information.

:welcome:

Hooked on Fenix

Flashlight Enthusiast
I'd suggest Eneloops or lithiums. Alkalines and regular rechargeables aren't as reliable in cold weather. In a cave, I would assume that it would be cool or cold.

NoFair

Flashlight Enthusiast
If I am able to freshly charge batteries the night before, I'll use my standard NiMH 2700 mAh Powerex or 2650 mAh Duracell AA's.

Otherwise, I use Eneloop or "Duraloop" batteries in my Apex.

+1 on this if it is either a 4AA Apex or an Extreme 8AAs.

I don't have eneloops, but use similar cells from GP or Varta.

The higher capacity 2500+ mAh cells self discharge faster so don't store well compared to Eneloop type cells.