A good all-around inspection light? EagleTac P10A2?

gof

Newly Enlightened
I've been lurking a bit to find a good LED light for use as an equipment inspection light (I'm an engineer by trade, Dad by profession :huh:). Imagine you wanted a light to poke your nose into motors, engines, tunnels, etc. But, I wanted something where batteries would be easy to come by in a pinch.

So it looks like the EagleTac P10A2 fits the bill pretty well, but I wanted to confirm it with some of the experts around here. I can't guage the brightness too well. I had an older single primary surefire from about five years ago which was "bright" but literally ate the 123's if used on constant. I like the >1 hour bright runtime in bright mode, and >7 hours on "dim" (how is the low mode compared to an old surefire?)

Another option would be the P10A. It's not as bright, but nicely smaller. easy to leave in the laptop bag for everyday availability. In either case I'd problem run the with eneloops.

Finally, what's the best place to pick up three of these (if they are in fact a recommended choice)? I saw a reference to the Eagletac-store and a CPF8 code.... If they accepted a PO that would be a bonus :twothumbs

carrot

Flashaholic
The Eagletacs are nice. A lot of people really like Fenix and Nitecore too. I have a hard time keeping track of all the new model numbers that keep getting thrown around but I got to handle a whole lot of Eagletacs and they are all nice, bright lights. That said you may like the Fenixes or Nitecore D20 as they are a little thinner and maybe not so bulky as most of the Eagletacs.

There's a lot of criteria to judge a light on... just remember you do get what you pay for.

Outdoors Fanatic

Flashlight Enthusiast