Nitecore D10: Cree Q5 or Osram Golden Dragon Plus?

progninja

Newly Enlightened
Hi everybody ;D

I am seriously considering to get a Nitecore D10, as I'm interested in a EDC small flashlight powered by a single AA batery. I have seen excelent reviews concerning this light so it drew my attention.

I'm kinda new to the "flashlight scene" so my question is: What are the differences between the Cree Q5 and the Osram Golden Dragon Plus LED's? Is there any difference in runtimes, brightness, color rendition and durability? If so, what differences and which LED do you prefer?

Thanks !

TONY M

Flashlight Enthusiast
Re: Cree Q5 / Osram Golden Dragon Plus

:welcome:
Progninja, take a look at Selfbuilts excellent review here https://www.candlepowerforums.com/threads/206986

It may come down to personal preference on which beam pattern you prefer. The GDP had some issues regarding tint but going by beamshots the beam is quite pretty IMHO.

And try a search in future!
rolleye11.gif

victorsamuel

Newly Enlightened
Re: Cree Q5 / Osram Golden Dragon Plus

i have the same dilemma and i have read everything there is to read on the subject more than once, doing a search doesn't fill in the blanks unfortunately.

i wanted the d10 gdp as i much preferred the beam but in realworld photos the q5 seems brighter and doesn't seem to be too ringy like it can be against a plain wall.

mainly though i am not prepared to risk getting a d10 gdp that whines, i've had that before with lights and cannot stand it. the q5 is supposedly quieter while some gdp's suffer from transistor whine.

so when i can afford mine i will probably get the q5, even though i don't really want it as much as the gdp, it seems the safer bet.

i have to add that i have no experience of the d10 at all and may be wrong, but like i said, i've read and re-read it all trying to decide.

and no, unfortunately i can't afford to get both

Kingfisher

Enlightened
I've got a D10 with Q5 and a EX10 with GDP.