SSC P7 Driver for Auto application (14V)

AV6NHBP6SPD

Newly Enlightened
Hi guys, i searched on this forum before but couldn't find answer on my question without asking questions. i got 4 SSC P7 leds (C bin 900lumen once, not from deal extreme). and want to use it as backup light in my Honda Accord. i found this http://www.kaidomain.com/ProductDetails.aspx?ProductId=1866 from links in other threads on this forum but problem is that it says no more then 12V in description.

maybe 12V for continuous use but they will be on for no more then 20 seconds at a time with long cool down time if it matters.

my question is, is it ok to run them at 14.25(which is what car output when car is running(i checked))??

i would run them with sharp voltage reg but max on the driver is 2A and not 2.8A which what led needs from driver for max output

im on hidplanet and couldnt get straight answer from ppl there.

i know im a noob but still

damn it. low output only 5% hmm. ok what are my choises in drivers to have at least medium output then high? is it possible to make driver relatively cheap or just easier to buy one?

this kinda **** me off that they say 15V and then say no more then 12V for board protection, false advertisement?

Last edited:

AV6NHBP6SPD

Newly Enlightened
your link says Low/High/Middle,5.5V~15V

well only driver one i found (i think i see other one before with just low and high mode). kinda good that its low first and high second. this way i when i back up it can switch on low mode first and i would run switch into inside of the car and if i need brighten up i can put on high (not always need high mode couse not always backup at night

AV6NHBP6SPD

Newly Enlightened
I would want a single mode driver for that application.