Streamlight Fire Vulcan P7 (D bin) a bit dissapointed

super2

Newly Enlightened
Hello all..been searching for a Mod on my Streamlight fire vulcan ... well i couldn't find anything, so i went ahead and just went for it.

A little bit of background first: I am a professional fire fighter in the North east, Ive had my Streamlight for a number of years and its always done its job, however within the last 6mon. - year, the batter seems to wear down rather quickly. Anyway, the department had supplied all their apparatus with lights, and i found myself using my personal fire vulcan less and less.

Anyway, a number of my brothers had purchased the relatively new LED version of the light, It really is a nice flashlight, lightweight and throws a lot of light.

After a bit of web searching, i found this site...what an awesome amount information. Apparently the LED version of the Fire Vulcan uses a modified Cree, Streamlight's C4® LED TECHNOLOGY (whatever that means). So me being the manly-man that i am decide to go with the P7. (ill show my buddies how a flashlight is supposed to burn your retina's)

I began assembling my parts, a quick overview:

SSC P7 12W High Power Led - DSXOJ Bin
LED Drivers Board - 3 Modes, 5.5-15v, 3.0A Board
a heat sink of some type
thermal paste
old flashlight

well today i got my parts and began the assembly, wasnt too bad, the hardest part was getting the heat sink in a position that it would line up with the old reflector, here's a few photos:

old light before i did a Dr. Frankenstein on it:
3924842946_73a2391542.jpg

let the operation begin !!
3924057321_3093c351cb.jpg

an old heatsink i found lying around .... found out later its probably not big enough:
3924844788_8c861e51a9.jpg

had to cut and modify the black bracket that hold down the 6V battery
3924846206_76158898ac.jpg

alot of trial and error to get this in the correct position

3924056593_0451346078.jpg