Throw vs spill...

blacktop711

Newly Enlightened
I was using a Eagletac m2Sc in the back yard, (I'm going to return it) and I noticed something about the spill. Please remember that I am a newbie here, so I may not be using the terms properly.

Anyway, this light has a fairly large hotspot, but the spill, the light that emanates at rough 35 degree angles, is rather substantial. I was shining the light at a line of trees that were perhaps 50 yrds away, and it's clear that in addition to the wide-ish hotspot, there is a substantial veil of spill covering a field of approximately 70 degrees emanating from the flashlight.

Here's my point. This "spill" seems to have no usable function at distance beyond 50 ft. It does illuminate what it shines on *very* faintly, but it does not illuminate with nay degree of usefulness. As I see it, this wide swath of spill is simply siphoning away light that could be used to make the hotspot brighter.

The spill seems to only a small bit of usefulness at very short distances, out to 30 feet, where it illuminated the turf a bit. By the same token, this foreground illumination also has the function of hindering my night visision, so that the spot looks dimmer.

So, to summarize, it's hard for me to see what the usefulness of the spill is. It seems to me to be simply scavenging light away from the much more useful hotspot.

I am not talking about a bright flood. I can see how that could be useful.

flatline

Flashlight Enthusiast
Here's my point. This "spill" seems to have no usable function at distance beyond 50 ft. It does illuminate what it shines on *very* faintly, but it does not illuminate with any degree of usefulness. As I see it, this wide swath of spill is simply siphoning away light that could be used to make the hotspot brighter.

I think that's an accurate statement, but there's a lot to consider.