decisions, decisions.....help needed!

andyr

Newly Enlightened
First of all, Hi.

New UK CPF fan here. Been reading the forum for a while, but thought i'd register. :thumbsup:

Now, I've got a dilemma.

I'm after a new LED FL as my good lady has decided she likes my Fenix P3D Q5 that much I know don't get to see it! :shrug:

Anyway, here's my criteria, any help would be appreciated.

No longer than 6"
No thicker than 35-40mm dia
Pref run on 123 batteries (not rechargable)
High lumen output
Pref Lo, med, high settings
Money no object really (as I don't mind paying for quality)

I've found a few that I like, but I've no experience with any of them, so your input is extremely valued.

Jetbeam RRT2 R2 Raptor
Jetbeam Jet III m
Olight M21 warrior
Eagletac T20 C2
Finally, the Microfire TL3 (but I know very little about this one)

Cheers,

Andy

Last edited:

hyperloop

Flashlight Enthusiast
Re: decisions, decisions.....

i would say take a look at the Jetbeam Jet III Pro ST BVC which has 3 individually programmable modes and a choice of using either 18650 or 2xCR123/RCR123s. It's also very durable. I own a first gen Jet III pro ST in fact, its my avatar, dunked in a mug of water for testing waterproofing and runtime.

Great light with a good balance of flood and throw.

pobox1475

Enlightened

If you can get by with two levels a Jet III M. Otherwise the RRT-2. I prefer the warm tint offered as well. OP (orange peel) for smooth beam profile or SMO (smooth) for more throw (distance) but the presence of Cree rings. I have the RRT-2 SMO and find it an outstanding light. A little heavy to be a true all-around carry light but would be nice carried in a 5" Maxpedition tube holster. III M is a little lighter and less technically involving. Perfect versatile light if two CR123's or 18650's are desired IMHO. Look forward to acquiring one soon.

carrot

Flashaholic