Tips for Building Direct Drive?

tylerdurden

Flashlight Enthusiast
I have never tried a DD light before. For 3x123 and a 5w emitter (say a U3U, since those are pretty commonly available), do I need a resistor? If so, is it really "direct" drive at that point? How much overdrive can a 5w take? Do I need to test the emitter before hooking it up? Anythng else I should look out for?

Thank.

Orion

Flashlight Enthusiast
#1 . . . . .HEATSINK!!!!!!

#2 . . . . .If you have resistance, it's not DD. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif

LukeK

Enlightened
Direct Driving an LS can be a tricky and/or damaging process. If you have proper heatsinking, then running at 9V should be no problem unless your LS has an unusually low Vf. My suggestion to you, is that you use a 5 Watt .5 Ohm resistor. Believe me when I say that 9 volts plus a .5 ohm resistor is still freakishly bright.

hotbeam

Flashlight Enthusiast
Ditto re per above posts... heatsinking for DD is most crucial! Other than that, you should have no problems /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif

jtice

Flashaholic
Same as above,,, heatsink!!!
If you have a nive heatsink,, similar to the hotlips, you shouldn't have a problem with DD with 9V.
Just pick yourself a nice 5W'er. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif

Mr Ted Bear

Flashlight Enthusiast
From experience, I can tell you NOT to use a Makita 9volt (actual 10.6v) drill battery, that is, unless you are attempting "flash photography"

jtice

Flashaholic
I have heard of others using mclux's for 5w.
I plan to alittle later.
As long as the light stabelizes itself, and doesnt go above the led's operating temp.
Those "flutes" ? on the mclux should help.

FalconFX

Flashlight Enthusiast
The biggest tip: Heatsink...