SUNWAYLED M40A review (lots of pics)

Colorblinded

Enlightened
Following the other user review of another SUNWAYLED from another CPF member, I've stuck with looking at this from a layman's position. That's about all I can do anyway since unlike Selfbuilt I don't do flashlight reviews frequently! For now this is the best I can do for my first time spent attempting to review a flashlight. Click on any of the pictures to open a bigger version.

Introduction

With seven models on the way out to market from new manufacturer SUNWAYLED, I'm sure I wasn't the only person with a particular interest in one of their new lights. As a photographer I'm always working with light in different ways be it flash, natural or other things like flashlights.

When I caught wind of SUNWAYLED's new offerings one in particular caught my eye. The M40A uses a Cree MC-E quad die emitter and runs off four AA batteries. It'll take alkalines, NiMH or anything else up to 1.5V (supposed to take lithiums as well). As a general rule, I try to avoid equipment that doesn't use AAs if it will be spending a lot of time in or around my camera bag. I far prefer being able to keep a couple spare sets of four Eneloop AAs in the bag, being able to swap batteries between devices as needed instead of having multiple devices with different battery types.