New and need advise.

fightin14

Newly Enlightened
Hello guys/gals I am new to this forum and new to modifying flashlights, however I am a flashlight nerd. My current collection is as follows, Surefire 6p, Blackhawk Gladius, (2) fenix ld20, and an inova. But to get to the point of the post, I am wanting to modify my surefire and understand how it all works. Can you guys point me in the direction on where I can find this information?

morelightnow

Enlightened
Your going to be overwhelmed with information about your surefire. There is a lot (understatement) of lamp assemblies, bodies, heads, and tailcaps for those. I'm a noob when it comes to surefires, but follow these steps for success.

First, you need to decide if you will be using regular batteries or rechargables. Second, figure out if you prefer led or incandescent lamp assemblies. With the 6p you can have both and swap them out when you feel like it. After that it's on to details like choosing a floody beam for close up illumination or narrow beam to see farther away. Use the search function first for most of your inquires. There will be days of reading for you.

Welcome to cpf

fightin14

Newly Enlightened
Thank you for your response, I did a search and found a few things but I think I am highly uneducated on the electrical(resistors,MAH,Volts,etc.. I understand what these things are but not real sure as far as flashlights and how to make it all work safely, reliably, and effectively.) part of this whole deal. I am wanting to gain some decent throw and rechargeable is the direction i am heading in. Thanks again.

morelightnow

Enlightened
Also check out member Nailbender thread in the modified BST section for led lamp assemblies. He has lots of options for led choice including color and ultraviolet models.

Rechargeable battery options are:

2 RCR123
2 IMR123
1 18650