Advise on first build

Mustangous

Newly Enlightened
I am new to this flashlightoholic...lol, but I got the bug and i am starting to spend a few bucks. I would like to build a few lights. I can get all the cr123 batteries I want so i would like to build a light using them. I'm pretty amazed at how efficent and bright the fenix tk-35 is using the xm-l Led. Between the XM-l and the SST-90, which is more efficient and/or Bight?I see the a lot of lights using the XM-L Led's, but what such the big range of lumens, why is that?

I have a bunch of the old Streamlight Scorpions incadencent lights still in the packages and would like to convert or mod to some high power LED's if possible.I gotta say, there is an enormous amount of information and lights to choose from that makes everything much more confusing and overwelming.... lol I'm looking for some pocket sized lights to start building. Can i use the streamlight scorpions as a host or should i go with a solarforce L2 something?
Any suggestions?

yazovyet

Enlightened
I'm a little new myself... but this is what i know about XM-L and sst 90. LEDs in general shodul be fed with current regulated circuits, so the circuit will provide whatever voltage and keep the current constant (prevents thermal runaway and LEDs have a small range of voltage between bright and blown). looking at their specs pages they both say somehting along the lines of 'over 100 lumnes per watt' at their mid-range amperage.
""I see the a lot of lights using the XM-L Led's, but what such the big range of lumens, why is that?"" - differnt manufacturers spec and measure differently. also some might be driven with less current, thus leading to less light output, this could be done for thermal or battery drain reasons.

the xml maxes out at around 1000 lumens when given ~3.7 volts and 3000 miliamps, and can be bought for ~12 dollars. theres a new "u2" bin that is slightly brighter than the T6 bin. it doesnt show up in this link.