Streamlight stinger hp led

muddrunner198

Newly Enlightened
Ive had this light for over a year now . I managed to tear up the led. Im new to this, but I figured I would upgrade while I had a chance. I was checking my voltage, and realized that my battery pack sayes 3.6v and it measured 3.9v. Then at the wires that solder to the led it read 7.2v. Can some one please explain this for someone who is just starting to learn this?

Toaster79

Enlightened
Battery pack is a 3 sub C cell NiCd type pack with nominal voltage of 3.6V (1.2 a cell), but when fully charged you get 3.9-4V. It has a single cree XR-E led inside so the voltage on the led should be around 3.5V, depends on current that the led is driven at. If you read 7.2V than there is probably something wrong with the driver.

Does your flashlight still work or not?

muddrunner198

Newly Enlightened
No it doesnt, I messed it up not streamlights fault, but thanks for the info, very helpful. If it has a cree xre in it, wut would be A good upgrade that my driver should work with.

Toaster79

Enlightened
I'd go for an XM-L, since the dome size is pretty close to XR-E, and is the most efficient LED on the market. You will get wider hotspot and some more spill. But before going for a new emitter, make sure the driver still works properly. If it doesn't, check for a drop in that fits the light head. If it's a switching regulator type of driver you might get some strange readings with no load, so wire a 3W resistor instead of LED and do some measurements.

muddrunner198

Newly Enlightened
Ive narrowed it down to either Cree MC-E or Seoul P7. I think the Cree would be better, because I want to use the driver that came in the light powering the Cree XR-E. I will be ordering my new led in a couple of days, which one do you guys reccomend me trying?

muddrunner198

Newly Enlightened