Hello from a newbie and advice needed please

alimac23

Newly Enlightened
Hi All,

I'm completely new to the flashlight world having only ever owned really cheap lights back in the UK, i moved to Australia in 2008 and still didn't really have anything to do with them until i bought a Gerber Clutch multitool that came with a free Gerber Tempo flashlight which i've really enjoyed using, before i owned this i used to use the light emitted from my iPhone screen if i needed to do anything in the dark which was obviously not great!

I am looking for some advice on what would be a good all round / camping torch, for someone with little experience there certainly seems to be a lot of choice and some pointers in where to start would be greatly appreciated!

Joe Hone

Newly Enlightened
The problem you will run into right away is which battery do you want to run? There are different options with different chemistries, some of which are fraught with peril for the inexperienced operator. Many people new to flashlights start out with AA battery lights - there are many different AA batteries ranging from acceptable performance (alkaline) to high performance (lithium primary) to steady performance (rechargeable Nimh). Plus AA batteries are nearly universally available. If you like that battery, then you will probably want an AA2 light for output, size, and especially run-time. I would suggest you do some cpf searches for AA2 LED lights. You'll find a myriad of choices, but the popular ones are popular here for good reason - 4Sevens, Fenix, Eagletac, ThruNite, Nitecore, iTP are just some examples. Once you've done some research on these brands you'll have a better idea of what questions to ask. Good luck!

Derek Dean

Flashlight Enthusiast
Howdy alimac23 and welcome to CPF.

Here you go:
http://www.candlepowerforums.com/vb/showthread.php?277224-The-Welcome-Mat-a-FAQ