LED Lantern Recommendations, please!

Lightcollector

Newly Enlightened
A friend is looking for a low cost rechargable LED lantern for camping. Does anyone have any reasonably bright, cost effective (edit: very cheap... $20) suggestions that should survive without random failures? Thanks!

He is looking to fully light up at least a small room/tent with no dark spots, so I would assume 500 lumens would be the bare mininum.

Last edited:

hsa

Enlightened
I have been using one of these for a couple years and it has worked great. Power outages, refrigerator repair and outdoor cooking. I got it as a gift and probably would not have bought myself but it has worked surprisingly well. Has a warm light for low. At least something to consider, it is inexpensive. I recommended it to a friend who also bought one and he also has had good luck with it.

Lightcollector

Newly Enlightened
I have been using one of these for a couple years and it has worked great. Power outages, refrigerator repair and outdoor cooking. I got it as a gift and probably would not have bought myself but it has worked surprisingly well. Has a warm light for low. At least something to consider, it is inexpensive. I recommended it to a friend who also bought one and he also has had good luck with it.
Okay, I will take a look at this option and pass it on. This particular model appears to be a D cell, but it looks like they have a lithium as well. Which do you have?
IMO, lanterns are pretty much obsolete.

A normal flashlight with a light diffuser cone should work fine, and would be a lot more versatile.
I agree for the most part, but my friend was specifically looking for lanterns and I don't know if cheaper flashlights would suit his goal.

Lightcollector

Newly Enlightened
Please define low cost
Great question, I had originally assumed $20-50 dollars was a reasonable range. However, when I asked for a ballpark budget number I was told $20. Which is more in line with non-rechargable units.

LEDphile