Running a spot light off of a car battery?

Cgm2414

Newly Enlightened
So I bought an off brand spotlight for about 19 bucks, and I was wondering if I could run it off of a car battery by taking the original connectors to it's battery and connecting it to a car battery? Since it was cheap I might as well try to do what I want with it.

Echo63

Flashlight Enthusiast
I would assume its ok, providing the original battery it ran off was also 12v

you are better off checking the voltage before connecting it to a car battery, otherwise you will instaflash the bulb

Cgm2414

Newly Enlightened
Thanks for replying, the battery that was in the spotlight was 7.2. Is there any modifications I can do better suit the spotlight for the car battery?

I'm new to all of this so bare with me if I ask a stupid question.

Thanks

Echo63

Flashlight Enthusiast
If the battery that came with the light is 7.2v, then a car battery will probably damage it.
Car batteries are normally 12v (and big, heavy and a pain to carry around)

Stick with the supplied battery

You may be able to change the bulb over to one more suited to the 12v of the car battery.

Pics would certainly help too, someone here may have modded one before

Cgm2414

Newly Enlightened
Well, just one problem with using the supplied battery, It takes a good 8 hours to charge and is drained within 5 minutes, shoot, maybe not even that long. That is kind of why I wanted to run it off of a larger battery.

Yeah they are big and heavy but I would say the only carrying I would be doing is from the garage to the truck or ATV, so im not to concerned with the weight, getting it running off of the car battery.

As for Pics I will try to upload them within a couple of days.

FRITZHID

Flashlight Enthusiast