Understanding MR16 LED lamps

choppedliver

Newly Enlightened
Hi everyone,

Ive had an account here, but I havent been on much. I don't have a whole lot of experience in this hobby. It's more of one of those things where I am not really interested in it until I need to build something, which isn't that often.

For example recently I put ten NiMH cells in series 1.2v x 10 = 12 volts. Put an mr16 led in a waterproof casing. Put them in a tube and made a handheld light waterproof light for wading in salt water. See what I mean? I love fishing. That's why I built it. Not because I'm a huge led hobbyist. But necessity is the mother of learning/invention.

So those batteries said 5000maH on the side. Which is probably overrate, but not really my concern. They last a very long time.

What I am wondering is, don't those MR16's that say they run on 12v, dont those bulbs really operate on the 3-4v range and have some kind of electronics to step the voltage down?

And if that is the case, I know in my old electronics classes 15 years ago, that when you use a transformer, voltage up, current down. Current Up, voltage down. But obviously these don't have an iron core transformer in them. They are converting 12v dc to some smaller voltage if I am not mistaken.

So this is the question.
Assuming source is 12v at 5aH.
Assuming the voltage was regulated down to 3v ( factor of 4) internally in these MR16 bulbs.

does that increase the aH rating by a factor of 4 ?

Thanks in advance

qwertyydude

Flashlight Enthusiast