Stream light sl-20 5*xml mod. Need advice!!!

tommydonovan

Newly Enlightened
Hello all,

I am modding a stream light sl-20. I have a dx reflector/heatsink and 5 XML t6's. I have an upgraded battery in the light. A 6v 3500MaH NiMH. The reflector can be seen here:
http://www.dealextreme.com/p/53mm-3...nd-accessories-for-5-cree-xr-e-emitters-18842

It fits into the light well. My question is what should I use for a driver. Ideally I would have one that would run the LEDs at full current (3A) if for only a short time and have a lower constant use mode (1A each- still about 2000 lumens I think) I've thought about direct driving them and figured that the five of them in parallel would sag the battery far enough to not blow them up(surely that battery back cannot deliver more than 15A?) this would probably damage the battery? Or start a fire? Lol. I don't want to change batteries because I like the fact that I can drop this whole light into the charging cradle.

I am fairly new to this so forgive my ignorance ;) how should I drive them? Or with what? Thanks in advance.

yazovyet

Enlightened
I'm going t go out on a limb and say direct drive is a bad idea, sagging a battery down that far can't be good for it. more importantly about direct is that you'd be putting out 15+ amps and that would likly be enough to run into problems with melting wires and switches. lastly, if your battery doesn't sag enough or if one of the leds lets more current through than the rest you could end up kiling one of them

simplec6

Enlightened
I don't think those xre reflectors are going to be an optimal reflector for your xmls.

The_bad_Frag

Enlightened