Malkoff Hound Dog XM-L, Help/Advice

Matt_26

Newly Enlightened
Hey guys!

This is my first post! As I was spending so much time here, consuming vast amounts of excellent information, I thought it's time to join!

Please be easy on me! :)

The current Malkoff sale made the Hound dog XM-L a must buy for me, so I went ahead and ordered one! It hasn't arrived yet, but I want to ask for the opinions of you guys before I order my batteries and charger!

So here's my question,

I have decided on making the jump to 18650 cells, I have almost decided on two 18650 AW 3100 mah cells, and a Pila IBC charger.

I know the input voltage and the approx current draw, but I don't know how to use this information to help me decide in the best battery setup for my flashlight, especially which mah battery to choose, as I'm led to believe high drain and low drain flashlights require a different mah battery for optimum use?

I'm a complete newb in this department, and want to treat my new light to the best!

So any help/advice would be very much appreciated, and I thank you guys in advance!

Cheers,
Matthew

monkeyboy

Flashlight Enthusiast
Hello and welcome to cpf.

I own the xm-l hound dog and using aw3100 18650's with no issues. The batteries are based on the Panasonic ncr18650 cell which are probably the best currently available. The batteries are not being drained anywhere near the limit so no need for high current Imr's.
i would recommend the new xtar sp2 charger over the pila though. Much faster.

Matt_26

Newly Enlightened
Thanks for the fast reply monkeyboy!

Ah I see, think i'll go ahead and order those batteries then, I'm about to look into the suggested charger now, hopefully some good uk retailers about!

What do you think of the Hound dog?

Matt.

af112566

Newly Enlightened