Help Selecting HS for Project (3 watt Star)

Justintoxicated

Flashlight Enthusiast
Well, I ordered some different size HSs for my Project. The project was to use Luxeon Stars on my ATV for a tail light and for underlighting.

In the Picture below the HS that is second most to the left is the one the company I ordered from recomended to me for the 3 watt blue star. It appears a bit big and bulky, and im doubting the cooling capabilities of it since all the fins are only along the boarder. They told me that the leftmost might be too small for a 3 watt, but I was going to use it rather than the bulkey one. From my experience it is a MUCH better design, and appears to itself be overkill for a 3 watt? (Im new to 3 watt LEDs though).

Just need some of your opinions.

LEDS.jpg

(left to right)
HS = the one I would like to use for the 3 watt Blue Star resting on it
HS = recomended for 3 watt blue star resting on it.
top = 2 1 Watt Red Batwing's for taillight mounted is AS Silver
mid 2 more red batwings
lower 2 1 watt Cyan Batwings (30 lumens each for another project)
Far right = My new circuit to run the stars (2 1 watt's and 2 3 watts) off fluctuating 14.4V AC power.

Is the HS on the far left large enough to handle a 3 watt star driven at 1 amp?

ufokillerz

Enlightened
The HS is probobably enough to handle it, just make sure not to use the thermal pad and use the AS Silver, but remember to be careful =p you probably already know that its slightly capacitative. How is the heatsink getting mounted? what going to house the luxeon/heatsink?

it will probably get somewhat toasty with the heatsinks depending on how its mounted

edit: btw the heatsinks they recommended dont look much better then the smaller ones when it comes to thermal dissapation.

Justintoxicated

Flashlight Enthusiast
[ QUOTE ]
ufokillerz said: