Flashlight maintenance ?

orbitalforest

Newly Enlightened
Hi chaps ,
I'm very much a novice and just after a bit of advice. I have an Olight SR52 ( rechargeable ) which i really like but just want to know how often i should lubricate the base cap and what is best for cleaning the lens glass ?
Also is there any other maintenance i should be doing ?
When should i think about new batteries or do they recharge ok hundreds of times ? ( Told you i was a novice ! ) .
I use the light around 3 or 4 times a week for around an hour each time to take my dogs walking in Thetford Forest ( UK ) .
I love the long throw on this torch but noticed there is an improved version with an 800m beam , would it be worth me upgrading or would the beam throw difference not be that noticeable ?
Any help or advice much appreciated .:)

KBobAries

Enlightened
Much of what you're asking is subjective. Individuals are more (and less) obsessive about their lights. How dirty is your light getting? My work light (used several times daily) and pocket light (lots of lint) get the threads wiped down with alcohol and then a dab of lube about once a month. The lights sitting around my home might get used once a week and cleaned once or twice a year. As for general maintenance, check the O-ring/s when you change the battery. Check the screws on the clip, if there are any. Check the bezel to see if it's loose. Give it a shake (without the battery) to see if anything is rattling. Wipe down the battery compartment as well but there's not much need to do a complete disassembly.

Take your battery out and use alcohol to clean the threads then lube it. Then spend a few minutes loosening & tightening the cap to get a feel for the threads when clean. Then you'll know right away the next time you change the battery if you need to clean it more frequently.