Led burnout

Dthoreson81

Newly Enlightened
I'm afraid I may have ruined a malkoff m61. I put 4 rcr123 batteries into a surefire p60 tube with a 2 x cr123 sized extension. I'm guessing I fried it. It worked well for a couple minutes then started to flicker and then just pooped out.

I'm pretty sure the drop in is toast, but if there's an off chance of saving or getting something out of it on top of the learning experience, I'd certainly appreciate the help.

Is there a p60 drop in that could handle the 4x rcr123 output? Will two 18650 cells burn out LEDs this way?

Need help! Thanks!

Dthoreson81

Newly Enlightened
The facts that I am totally new to the hobby, and just wasn't thinking really don't add up to a smart decision I know. My loss.

Is the drop in toast? Do I have any means of salvaging anything in the drop in? Battery type drop in recommendations for a "12"P?

Thanks.

Dave D

Flashlight Enthusiast
The M61SHO is suitable for 5.5 - 12v.

400 lumens.

I can't see your burnt out M61 being repairable as all the electronics are potted.

staticx57

Flashlight Enthusiast
4xRCR123 has a voltage of 16.8v at full charge. Use 2x18650 if you want run time. That has a full charge voltage of 8.4v

bulrush

Newly Enlightened
If too much voltage gets to the LED itself the voltage will fry the LED. If the LED driver board accepts 3-9vdc and you gave it 12vdc, then too much voltage probably got to the LED and either fried the LED, or a driver component.

I've fried a few LEDs myself directly connected to a battery. Usually they get super bright, like the sun, then they die.

yellow

Flashlight Enthusiast
as all have typed:
the insert is made for 3.4-9 V, with the 4 cells in series - setup is "for 2 cells" - the driver is killed,
You could, just for fun, take a magnifier and search for the :poof: part, but changing it will most likely not make sense anymore ...
(because it will be the ic ...)

to Your other questions:
is that light "bored" for 18650?