Can this light be upgraded?

DoubleA

Newly Enlightened
I'm not experienced with upgrading or "modding" a flashlight beyond installing a drop-in Nite-ize 3 LED module for a mini-maglite a long time ago. However, I've heard that plenty of flashlights can be upgraded, and I have an older and cheaper one that makes me think it can be modded. I thought I'd ask about it here.

It's a 3AAA Guidesman (Menards brand) light that has 14 LED's in a showerhead configuration. The head containing the entire LED assembly unscrews from the rest of the body easily. I was thinking it must have been made in this way to enable it to be upgraded. Is anyone familiar with this light? Are there replacement heads available that I can buy for this light? It would be one serious upgrade if I could replace the 14 5mm LED head with something "Cree".

I took some pictures of it, and then found out I cannot attach anything to my posts. So here's a link to a picture online I found that shows what my light looks like: (hotlinked image deleted) Also, here's a youtube video of someone showing there's: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YlZcE8zv_J0

Last edited by a moderator:

R.W.D.

Enlightened
It would be helpful to see what the insides look like in terms of taking the head off and checking out the cavity where the LEDs on board go. You could desolder the old LEDs and put others in to make the tint warm or even go half cool white half warm to possibly get a more neutral colour.

DoubleA

Newly Enlightened
It would be helpful to see what the insides look like in terms of taking the head off and checking out the cavity where the LEDs on board go. You could desolder the old LEDs and put others in to make the tint warm or even go half cool white half warm to possibly get a more neutral colour.