Stumped on Dorcy 1AA 3led to lux mod

ZuluWhiskeyFox

Enlightened
Ok here's the drill. I bought a Dorcy 1AA 3 led with the intention of trying a lux mod. The thought process that led me to this was the thought that there must be some kind of boost circuit driving those 3 leds. So I unscrewed the head. Peared in the bottom and saw a board with two holes. These two holes accepted a snap ring plier nicely. So I turned, and turned, and turned. hmm no progress. There were what appeared to be threads. Those guts should screw out of there. Well most of you reading this have probably been down this road already. Ok so that didn't work. So I studied the lens end for a while. There didn't seem to be any way in that way as well. So with the aid of an arbour press I pushed all the heads stuff out the front. The lens itself didn't survive this assault but the rest did. hmm no electronics in the head. Just the 3 leds neatly soldered to that previously mentioned board. What's under that black plastic disk and spring? Used 2 batteries to push out what turned out to be the boost board. Cool. Left that aside for now and went back to the head. Filed around the edges of a TVOJ star until it fit into the head. Removed the 3leds from their board. Soldered some wires from this board to the star and placed it into the head. NX-05, a filed down lens from a mini-mag, and an o-ring to hold all this stuff into the head and voila. All was a perfect fit. So I put the original boost board back in and a battery. Fired it up. It makes light but not to impressive. I should add, up this point I had not yet read anything about modding this light. So I searched through many of the postings of Dorcy mods. I was looking for some advice on how to increase the current output. I found very little. There was some mention about removing the resistor. What resistor there are two. Other than that many people talked about 350ma seemingly with much effort. I measured the current at my lux and got 90ma. At this po