Spotting humans using blue LED lighting.

Icebreak

Flashlight Enthusiast
Ever been deep in the woods at night, heard a sound and wondered, "What is that?". While night stream fishing in the Oauchita mountains you may run across an occasional black bear or razorback hog; the razorback hog being the more dangerous of the two. What concerns me more is what kind of humans might be out there.

If I shine a Tektight 7 blue LED light at an animal their eyes will light up. If I shine it at a human usually some of their clothing will light up. It is a great identifying tool.

Anybody know of a brighter blue LED light?

Yes, I'm still a rookie.

Thanks

hotfoot

Flashlight Enthusiast

vcal

Flashlight Enthusiast
Originally posted by hotfoot:
How about a blue Arc-LS? Its a single LED light but uses the brightest LEDS available now, averaging brightness of at least 10 regular LEDS when driven to spec, and sometimes much much brighter when overdriven
and here for the directlink to the blue one:

http://store.yahoo.com/flashlight/bluledarflas.html
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">I wonder if that one is the regular blue LS or the Royal blue one.
As Craig J. says, the Royal one seems astoundingly bright-especially for phosphorescing. I'm extremely happy with mine.
cool.gif

brightnorm

Flashaholic
Icebreak,

For night ID do you prefer LEDs to high power mini incandescents like the Surefire 2x123's. Are the woods so dense that distance ID is precluded, and is that why you are looking for an LED light?

Brightnorm

hotfoot

Flashlight Enthusiast
Originally posted by mr.glow:
I wonder if that one is the regular blue LS or the Royal blue one.
As Craig J. says, the Royal one seems astoundingly bright-especially for phosphorescing. I'm extremely happy with mine.
cool.gif
[/QB]
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">Beats me, but sounds to me like you sure are one lucky guy! Now I'm hankering for a RB SLS1 too...
smile.gif

vcal

Flashlight Enthusiast
Originally posted by hotfoot: