ARC LS - Help Me Understand?!?!?

MSaxatilus

Flashlight Enthusiast
Well, I'm sure I'm going to get a earful on this one but here goes:

Admittedly, I'm a newbie, but I've been poking around on this site for a while now and I've noticed that everyone has been absolutely raving about the ARC LS. However, it seems to me that $100++ bucks for a small "pocket" light (basically experimental even) that puts out around 18 lumens of light seems a bit rediculous. I understand its the probably the best LED going, and it comes with a couple of bodies for different battery configurations. But for the price it seems kindof ridiculous.

For the same money you could get a nice X5 and a small Surefire, or a nice rechargable streamlight.

I understand its probably the best LED out there, but I think I'm missing the big picture. Can anyone set me straight on the issue. Why is the ARC LS worth that much cash? Is it strickly for the collectability?

Boy, I'm sure I walked into a viper den on this one!!

Saaby

Flashaholic
I think you are confused...the Arc AAA is the absolutely must have light. The Arc LS is also a very nice light but it has it's lovers and haters. I have a SLS (Arc LS Second--didn't meet Quality Control standards) but the only reason I have it was because I got a great deal on it.

I don't think it's just the brightness that makes the LS so popular. Look at the battery configs. I can run my SLS with a 123 cell for ultra bright light in a ultra small package, in the 1 AA config for a very bright light (Not ulra bright mind you) in a tiny package (Skinier but longer than 123) or in the 2AA config (That's usually how mine is set up) for cheap, long lasting light.