Where can I get Streamlight ProPolymer 3C Luxeon?

Steve Andrews

Enlightened
I'm a firefighter in Jersey, UK. I have been asked to recommend a light to be carried in the truck, one per crew member. I think the Streamlight ProPolymer 3C Luxeon would be a good choice, but can't find a dealer who stocks them.
Are they out yet?

geepondy

Flashlight Enthusiast
I just looked at Brightguy for reference and they don't carry them yet and he seems to have every Streamlight available so I'm guessing it will be hard to find.

I wonder how it compares to 4AA Polypro Luxeon?

GuyZero

Newly Enlightened
From everything I've seen/read the 3C has the same head as the 4AA. I have the 4AA and it's amazingly bright and can picture it working very well for fireman use.

You can also get an adapter for the 4AA that will attach it to a fire helmet, so that might be a concideration. The 3C might be a slightly better girth for holding on to if you have thick gloves on I suppose. But with the same performance, smaller size and still a 3-4 hour runtime I think the 4AA would be a very good suggestion.

-Brian

BuddTX

Flashlight Enthusiast
Steve,

You might want to check the SAFETY RATINGS on the Streamlight ProPolymer 4AA Luxeon Star (and the upcoming 3C version).

I believe that they do not yet have ANY SAFETY ratings on them.

I would bet that the safety ratings are in the works, as the incandecent version and the multi LED ProPolymer all have this:

Class I, Division 1-Approved for use in hazardous locations; Waterproof; Non-conductive and corrosion-proof; Spring-loaded clip (Except special police model)

The Luxeon Star does NOT YET have this safety rating. I am sure that this is important for a firefighter.

Call Streamlight at 1-800-523-7488
or
e-mail at
[email protected]

To ask them specifically about safety ratings.

haribante

Newly Enlightened
Re: Where can I get Streamlight ProPolymer 3C Luxe